Skip to main content

MAN Citing Sources for Academic Success: EndNote

Covers the four citation types used at UW-Manitowoc: Turabian/Chicago, MLA, APA, and ACS

What is Endnote?

EndNote is a citation manager that is part of the database Web of Science.  EndNote has the advantage of accepting exported citations from databases.  Here's how to get started.

Go to the Web of Science by looking through the alphabetical list of databases found on the library home page or by selecting the Web of Science links here.

On the Web of Science page, look to the right menu bar for the My EndNote Web link. 

Web of Science menu bar

You will be given the opportunity to register for an account: 

 

How to Use EndNote Within Web of Science

Run a search in Web of Science. Review results. Select those you wish to import into EndNote by clicking in the box next to the record number.

Search results & selections

At the top of the page, you'll see a tool bar.  Select Save to:  ENDNOTE WEB. 

Web of Science tool bar

You will see a message that indicates that your request is being processed.

Log into ENDNOTE WEB.  You can either click on the tab to do this or log in from the web.

You'll see a list of your references when you log in.  You can organize these into groups by selecting certain records, going to the drop down menu to add them to an existing group.  This is also where you can create a new group. 

reference list into groups

 

Formatting records into correct citation format

To develop a bibliography of correctly cited references, go to FORMAT, then BIBLIOGRAPHY.

Bibliography

Use the drop-down menu next to References to select the group of citations you want to have formatted.

Next, select the Bibliographic style you wish to use.  You can set up a group of favorites by clicking on the "Selecting Favorites" link.  This will bring you to a list of more citation styles than you ever dreamed existed.  Select whichever you think you might use.  See below for a list of styles used at UW-Manitowoc.

Select favorite styles