Skip to main content

SHB ENG101: Finding Books & Articles

What can I find in Search @UW?

Individual Article Databases

Search@UW or single database search?

The best use of Search@UW is when you need a large number or a variety of resources.  It is also helpful when your research question spans a number of different subjects, making it difficult to choose a single-subject database.

However, not all database content is available through Search@UW.  There will also be many instances in which a single-subject database will have enough content that a user will not need the multiple resources connected to Search@UW.  In these cases, a single database search may be easier and more efficient.

Search@UW - Everything Search

Simply type in some keywords and hit search!

Viewing your results

Access the items in your search results by following these steps:

Articles: 

Click on the View It tab and then click on the link for the full-text article.

Books:

Click on the Get It tab to see where the item is available.  If it is available at UW-Sheboygan, write down the call number and find it on the shelves.  If the book is not available at UW-Sheboygan, have it delivered here by placing a "Local Request" (preferred) or "UW Request.

Advanced Searching

If you are having trouble narrowing your results or are searching for a known item, using the Advanced search might be helpful.  You can limit your search to title, author or subject.  You can also limit by language, date and the "Basic Search" scopes (Everything, Articles, UW Colleges Books and Media, UW System Books and Media and Digital Collections.)

Advanced Searching

Don't forget to Sign in

Sign in Signing-in will assure that all content available to you will be displayed correctly, and that your request options are readily available.

To sign in, just click the "Sign in" link in the upper right hand corner, and enter your network (PRISM) username and password.

Tips and Tricks

Use the Refine Your Results links on the left side to narrow down your list of sources