Skip to main content

SHB ENG102: Finding Articles

Ordering articles through Interlibrary Loan

You can order articles and books from other libraries with Interlibrary Loan.  It may take up to a week for articles to arrive, so request items well ahead of your assignment's due date.

  • If you are searching in a database, click the Find It! button. If "No full text available" then click "Non-UW Library Request (ILLiad)."  Then Sign in, follow the remaining prompts and click Submit Request at the bottom of the page.
  • If you need articles immediately, use the FULL TEXT limit box available in most databases. It will limit the articles found to only those that you can view and print immediately.

Search@UW Articles

Search @UW  has full text articles too.

  1. Do a search for your topic
  2. To see only Peer-Reviewed Journals, click "Peer-reviewed" on the left side.
  3. When you find a good title, click View It to link to a full text copy of the article.
    • From Off-Campus you will be asked to log-in with your campus username and password.
  4. Click the link that appears to go to a copy of the article that you can read, print, save or e-mail.

Search@UW or single database search?

The best use of Search@UW is when you need a large number or a variety of resources.  It is also helpful when your research question spans a number of different subjects, making it difficult to choose a single-subject database.

However, not all database content is available through Search@UW.  There will also be many instances in which a single-subject database will have enough content that a user will not need the multiple resources connected to Search@UW.  In these cases, a single database search may be easier and more efficient.

Tips for better searching

A multi-disciplinary database, such as Academic Search Complete in EbscoHost, is a good source for topics that don't fall easily into a subject catagory.

In EbscoHost databases:   

  • an asterisk(*) at the stem of a word will find all forms of the word (truncation):  educat*= education, educable, educate.
  • Quotes around phrases (“xx yy”) will insure that your keywords are searched as a phrase; rather than individual words.  "Social work" will yield much different results than results with social and/or work.
  • Question marks (?) can be used as wild cards to replace an unknown letter or letters in a keyword.  This is especially helpful with spelling issues; e.g. if you can't remember whether i or e is first use Einst??n.

Other databases like LexisNexis Academic may use the same or different characters for truncation ( !, instead of *) or wild cards (* instead of ?).  When searching a database unfamiliar to you, check the the "Help" section of the database to determine the search symbols for that database.