Skip to main content

SHB PHI205: Finding Articles

Articles databases

Databases to start with (to search multiple Ebsco databases simultaneously, click one of them below then Choose Databases at the top of the Ebsco screen):

 

Databases by Subject - A list of all our databases (150+) arranged by subject area

Ordering articles through Interlibrary Loan

You can order articles and books from other libraries with Interlibrary Loan.  It may take up to a week for articles to arrive, so request items well ahead of your assignment's due date.

  • If you are searching in a database, click the Find It! button. If "No full text available" then click "Non-UW Library Request (ILLiad)."  Then Sign in, follow the remaining prompts and click Submit Request at the bottom of the page.
  • If you need articles immediately, use the FULL TEXT limit box available in most databases. It will limit the articles found to only those that you can view and print immediately.

Tips for better searching

A multi-disciplinary database, such as Academic Search Complete in EbscoHost, is a good source for topics that don't fall easily into a subject catagory.

In EbscoHost:   
  • an asterisk ( * ) at the stem of a word will find all forms of the word:  educat*= education, educable, educate.
  • Quotes around phrases (“xx yy”) will insure that your keywords are searched as a phrase; rather than individual words.  "intelligence test" will yield much different results than results with intelligence and/or test.
  • Question marks (?) can be used as wild cards to replace an unknown letter or letters in a keyword.  This is especially helpful with spelling issues; e.g. if you can't remember whether i or e is first, use Einst??n.

When searching a database unfamiliar to you, check the the "Help" section of the database to determine the search symbols for that database.

Search@UW Articles

Search @UW  has full text articles too.

  1. Do a search for your topic
  2. To see only Peer-Reviewed Journals, click "Peer-reviewed" on the left side.
  3. When you find a good title, click View It to link to a full text copy of the article.
    • From Off-Campus you will be asked to log-in with your campus username and password.
  4. Click the link that appears to go to a copy of the article that you can read, print, save or e-mail.

Searching 1-2-3

Database searching in 3 steps: 

Step 1:  Brainstorm keywords (words you use to describe your topic). 

Step 2:  Construct your search: 

  • Choose database(s). 
  • On the search page, type your keywords in the boxes provided.  Remember, you are typing words or word phrases, not questions.
  • You will get more results if you do not select a search field.
  • Select the peer-reviewed limiter to limit your results to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles.

Step 3:  Examine results:

  • Too many results?  Try applying a date limiter or using more narrow keywords to describe your topic.  For example, if you searched "anxiety," try narrower terms like "panic" or "fear."  There may be search terms suggested on the left side of your results page or you can search terms using the THESAURUS or SUBJECT TERM index that is often provided with the database.
  • Not enough results?  Try searching a broader topic; use fewer keywords.  Try new keywords from your brainstorm list or use search terms suggested by the database.
  • Found the perfect article?  First, see if it is offered in full text.  If not, click the "Find It" button to find the article in print or another database or order it through Inter-Library Loan.   Next, don't stop searching!  Look at the "subject terms" or "author supplied" terms to see if those terms match your keywords.  If not, try some searches using those terms.