Skip to main content

RCK English 102 - Pruitt: Finding articles

LibGuide for Prof. Pruitt's English 102 course

Interlibrary Loan

What to do when the full-text of your article is not available from the database


The UW Colleges libraries provide access to thousands of peer reviewed journals, but databases will retrieve records from some journals that are not available in full-text.  When that happens, students can order the article that is not available here from another library.  Watch this video to see how the process for ordering an article from a database works.  Always look for the find it! button or "find it at UW Colleges" text to set the loan process in motion. 

If you prefer to avoid interlibrary loan, limit your search to full-text only. 

You'll need to use your library barcode number to order materials.  Look for it on the front of your student ID.  

 

Selected Library Databases

    • EBSCOHost Databases (EBSCO)  

      This link will bring you to an alphabetical list of all Ebsco databases.  Select one at a time or search several simultaneously. Ebsco is a collection of full-text databases in various subject areas, ranging from general reference collections to subject specific periodical indexes.

    • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)  

      Academic Search™ Complete is EBSCO's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database.

    • LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis)  

      LexisNexis Academic offers access to more than 5,800 full-text sources.  Includes news, business, and legal information. 

EBSCO tutorials

These tutorials are provided by database vendors and other libraries.  The list moves from basic and general to more specific search techniques.  If you only watch one, watch the first or second listed.