Skip to main content

RCK World Music: Home

Welcome !

Welcome to the World Music library guide for UW-Rock County! This guide will show you how to find library resources and database articles for your papers and presentations.  World music covers a wide variety of topics and can involve difficulties of language, geography, and cultural differences.  Use the tabs  across the top to get help with your search.

Get Help With Your Research

If you need additional help with your research, please contact us.

  • Stop in the library for walk-in help

  • Make an appointment with a librarian (call, email or stop in to set up an appointment)

  • Call us:(608)758-6565 ext. 400

  • Email us: rck-library@uwc.edu

We are here to help!

Assignment

For this classs, you are looking for sources to prepare a presentation on an assigned country's music.  You will be looking at the country's politics, social conditions, religious beliefs, and customs.  These all make up the culture of the country.  The music may also be influenced by history, immigration, or geography.  You will need to be aware of these but focus on them as they affect music.  Many countries have developed unique instruments and/or musical styles so these will be important research topics.

   

Start Here

Start here!

Cover Art
Garland encyclopedia of world music online (Alexander Street Press)   more information searchable by UW Colleges Libraries : Article Search
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. This release includes 1,209 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples. You can also access The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online through the Music Online interface.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)   more information searchable by UW Colleges Libraries : Article Search
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
   

UW-Rock Librarian

Beth Webb's picture
Beth Webb
Chat is offline - use Contact us