In addition to Garland and Academic Search Complete, the UW Colleges purchases the following databases which may be relevant to your search:
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
This online collection is maintained by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. It contains digitized images and sounds of Africa contributed over the years to the African Studies Program of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. These digital files are stored in an accessible database and are provided for personal use or educational presentations. The project was developed through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The completion date was March 1, 2000, at which time the site contained in its searchable database the digital representations of more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sound from forty-five different countries. As we continue to expand, amend, and evaluate the site, suggestions and criticisms are welcomed by firstname.lastname@example.org.
African American Music Reference brings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. As the database grows, it will be supplemented with other noted reference titles covering the histories of jazz, blues, bebop, hip hop, ragtime, gospel, and rhythm and blues, as well as a detailed chronology of African American events in music, links to web resources, searchable sheet music, and new reference titles.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest XML)
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 1.8 million articles from more than 315 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique.
Humanities Int'l Complete (EBSCO)
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Collection (Humanities) XML Gateway
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
Music Online provides cross-searchable access to the Alexander Street Press music databases available to the UW Colleges libraries: African American Music Reference, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online and Jazz Music Library. This comprehensive database contains streaming audio, video, reference and scores.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the world wide web. In 1999, MUSE published online 46 JHUP titles in the humanities, social sciences.
Pronouncing Dictionary of Music & Musicians
Prepared primarily for the announcing staff of WOI Radio, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, the dictionary is freely available. Although far from complete, the dictionary, with its 30,000 entries, is the most extensive of its type now available. See the Preface and Pronunciation Conventions
for more information. The dictionary includes a file for each letter of the alphabet. The files can be accessed individually online in PDF format.
(Add / Edit Text )