Skip to main content

SHB Search@UW: Content

What is in Search@UW: Articles

Search@UW draws its article content directly from journal publishers and some, but not all, of the major library database vendors.  For this reason, there are materials covered in in our licensed databases that users will not discover using Search@UW.   In these instances, searches should still be conducted in the individual database see, Databases A - Z or Databases by Subject (links to these resources are below.)

However, there are many resources users can find in Search@UW which are not in any of UW Colleges' licensed databases. Many databases also have alternative coverage that is available in Search@UW. For example, ABI Inform is not a part of Search@UW, but 78% of its content is contained in in it.  See the adjacent box for more coverage details.

Usually, there are more than enough resources resulting from either a search in an individual database or from Search@UW.  However, you should try searches using both tools if you are not satisfied with your first results or you want to be really thorough.

What specific resources are in Search@UW?

100% coverage

American Chemical Society journals 
JSTOR
BioOne
ERIC
JSTOR (all of it UWRF only subscribes to a few collections)
Lexis Nexis law reviews
MLA International Bibliography
Medline
Oxford journals
Project Muse
PsycArticles
Sage journals
Taylor & Francis journals
Wiley Journals
Science Direct
Web of Knowledge

Non Article content:
David Rumsey Historical Maps
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
selected Library of Congress Digital Collections

 

What is not in Search@UW Articles?

What is not in Search@UW Articles?

Non-bibliographic databases, for example:

Ancestry.com
American Fact Finder
Demographics Now
Mediamark Reporter
Polling the Nation
Reference USA
Statistical Abstract of the United States

Hoovers Company Profiles

Historic newspapers:

New York Times
Wall Street Journal

Lexis-Nexis Academic content:

Only the law review content from Lexis-Nexis Academic is included. Regional, state and local newspapers, business content, legal cases are not.  Users will see a lot of full text from Lexis Nexis Academic because it provides the underlying full text for references from other databases.

 ProQuest Congressional

Search@UW: Articles Coverage by database

Search@UW Articles Coverage by database

ABI/INFORM Global

ProQuest

76%

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

ProQuest

73%

Academic Search Complete

EBSCOhost

85%

America: History & Life

EBSCOhost

88%

Art and Architecture Index

EBSCOhost

75%

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic

EBSCOhost

99%

Business Source Premier

EBSCOhost

82%

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

EBSCOhost

78%

Communication & Mass Media Complete

EBSCOhost

77%

Consumer Health Complete

EBSCOhost

85%

Corporate Resource Net

EBSCOhost

85%

Education Research Complete

EBSCOhost

79%

Environment Complete

EBSCOhost

88%

General Science Collection

EBSCOhost

87%

GreenFile

EBSCOhost

79%

Health Source (Consumer Edition)

EBSCOhost

84%

Health Source (Nursing and Academic)

EBSCOhost

96%

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

EBSCOhost

75%

Literary Reference Center

EBSCOhost

81%

MAS Ultra School Edition

EBSCOhost

82%

MasterFILE Premier

EBSCOhost

82%

MDConsult

Elsevier

88%

MEDLINE with Full Text

EBSCOhost

99%

Middle Search Plus

EBSCOhost

70%

Military & Government Collection

EBSCOhost

82%

Nursing and Allied Health Collection: Basic

EBSCOhost

96%

Philosopher's Index, The

Philosopher's Information Center

91%

Political Science Complete

EBSCOhost

76%

Professional Development Collection

EBSCOhost

91%

PsycINFO

American Psychological Association (APA)

90%

SocINDEX

EBSCOhost

88%

Teacher Reference Center

EBSCOhost

94%

Women's Studies International

EBSCOhost

91%