Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Home

Getting started

Latin American Countries

Latin America consists of three areas:  the Caribbean, Central America, and South America.  Mexico is actually in North America, though it is also a Latin American country.

The Caribbean

  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Martinique
  • Puerto Rico
  • Saint Barthélemy
  • St. Kitts & Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turks & Caicos Islands
  • Virgin Islands

Central & North America

  • Belize
  • Costa Rica
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama

South America

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela


Welcome to this library guide to Latin American Studies! You will find shortcuts, introductions, and search guides to some important digital resources here. For the purposes of this guide, Latin America covers the geographic area from south of the Rio Grande to the southernmost tip of Chile and includes the Caribbean islands. 
Click on one of the subject tabs above to start browsing.

Volcano and Arch, Antigua, GuatemalaAntigua, Guatemala photo used under Creative Commons from DaveWilsonPhotography.

UW-Manitowoc librarian

Anthony Sigismondi's picture
Anthony Sigismondi