Welcome to the Anatomy & Physiology research guide. This guide will introduce you to databases and other resources that will help you find information and images for your poster project.
Members of the library staff are always available--in person or through email or chat--so go ahead and ask for help at any stage of your project!
Online encyclopedias, handbooks, information for patients: General overviews that provide an introduction to the topic. Use them to learn the scope and structure of a topic, the subjects it includes, useful keywords, important dates and discoveries, and top names in the field
Peer-reviewed articles: Gives an in-depth exploration of a specific way of treating the topic. Will include a review of the literature that describes how other researchers have studied the topic and what they learned. Includes a list of sources cited.
Books: Can serve scholarly or general audiences. Scholarly books may provide a collection of peer reviewed articles. General books may provide first person accounts or an extended general discussion of the topic. May provide hundreds of pages on the topic.
News articles: Look here for reports on advances in the field published in peer-reviewed articles. These summarize results for a more general audience.
Government reports and articles: The government makes the research that it funds available to the public through open access to peer reviewed articles. .Gov sources may also present general information to a broad audience in order to serve the public good.
Graphic Images: Photographs, tables, charts, all enhance the audience’s ability to understand the topic by condensing data, showing results, providing a close-up of something otherwise unnoticed or unseen, among other uses.
Web sites: Websites may include any of the above types of sources. Be selective when you collect information; always choose the best, highest quality, academic resources possible.
Databases: A collection of sources that includes full-text access to peer-reviewed articles, books, and other high quality sources appropriate for academic use.