Subject TermsCombining Terms
This is the "Home" page of the "MAN-HES127-Fitness for Life" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MAN-HES127-Fitness for Life   Tags: fitness, fitness for life, health, health sciences, physical education, uw-manitowoc  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uwc.edu/manhes127 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library Guide for Fitness for Life!  You will find helpful tips for conducting a successful search for research articles and links to databases to search. 

Four ways of finding research articles are described in this guide.  Each has advantages and disadvantages and they all involve the use of library databases. 

   1.  Database searching.  Start with a search strategy, then try out your plan by searching licensed databases by subject.

   2.  Bibliography.  If you find a great research article, carefully review its list of works cited and select the most relevant.  Search for them in library databases using title, source, and/or author information provided (some html articles found in scholarly databases will provide links to these titles).

   3.   News article.  The latest research is often reported in newspapers and news magazines.  Find identifying information about the author, institutional affiliation, and research topic and see if you can retrieve the published article by using databases.  Sometimes a link is provided in the article. 

   4.  Browse through professional journals.  Professional research journals can limit the scope of their coverage to very specific topics.  If you know of a journal that fits your topic very well, you may enjoy browsing through its table of contents.  

UW-Manitowoc librarian

Profile Image
Peggy Turnbull
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip