Corporate Social Responsibility: a Very Short Introduction by Jeremy MoonCorporate social responsibility has been defined as 'the responsibility of enterprises for their impacts on society'. Is Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) just window dressing or is it a contradiction in terms? In this Very Short Introduction, Jeremy Moon shows that CSR holds much more value than it first appears, and shows how it has come of age in recent years. Illustrating the sorts of CSR investments companies make, the ways in which they practice CSR, and the challenges this brings, Moon considers how the principles migrated from their US roots to become a global business phenomenon. Exploring the place of CSR in different economic, social, political, and managerial contexts, this short guide considers the many positives, but also challenges, that CSR can present for companies, societies, and governments worldwide. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: Oxford Very Short Introductions (database)
Publication Date: 2015
Medical Ethics by Tony HopeIssues in medical ethics are rarely out of the media and it is an area of ethics that has particular interest for the general public as well as the medical practitioner. This short and accessible introduction provides an invaluable tool with which to think about the ethical values that lie atthe heart of medicine. Tony Hope deals with the thorny moral questions such as euthanasia and the morality of killing, and also explores political questions such as: how should health care resources be distributed fairly? Each chapter in this book considers a different issue: genetics, modernreproductive technologies, resource allocation, mental health, medical research, and discusses controversial questions such as:DT Who should have access to reproductive technology? Who should pay?DT Is it right to fund expensive drug treatment for individuals?DT Should active euthanasia be legalized?DT Should treatment for mental illness be imposed on patients without their consent?DT Who should have access to information from genetic testing?DT Should we require consent for the use of dead bodies or organs in medical research?
Call Number: Very Short Introductions (database)
Publication Date: December 2004
Business Ethics News (NYT)
Encyclopedias for Topic Ideas and Background Information
Encyclopedia of PhilosophySince 1967, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, described by Booklist as the best and most comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Call Number: Reference B51 .E53 2006
Welcome to the PHI 241 Research Guide
In this guide, you will find information and resources designed to help you...
find books, articles, websites
avoid plagiarism/cite your sources properly
Journal of Business Ethics articles
Get Help With Your Research
If you need additional help with your research, please contact us.
Stop in the library for walk-in help or make an appointment